2019 Producers Guild Of America Awards Cement Green Book As Oscar Frontrunner

The Producers Guild of America Awards have established Green Book as the Best Picture Oscar front runner.

The Peter Farrelly-directed film took the PGA’s top honor Saturday night during a ceremony held at the Beverly Hilton in Los Angeles, where television programs like The Americans, The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel, and The Assassination of Gianni Versace: American Crime Story were also honored.

On the documentary side, Won’t You Be My Neighbor? took the PGA Award, while Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse triumphed among the animated nominees.

Made up of roughly 7,000 international film, television, and new media producers, the PGA — alongside fellow industry guilds like the Directors Guild of America and the Screen Actors Guild — has deep influence in the entertainment industry, and it shares voting ranks with the Academy. This makes the industry guild one of the most reliable foretellers of Oscar tastes, particularly in the Best Picture race.

Since the group’s inaugural ceremony honoring films from 1989, every PGA winner has gone on to either win (20 titles) or receive a nomination (the remaining 10, including Gravity, which tied with 12 Years a Slave in 2014) for Best Picture Oscar. Last year’s champion The Shape of Water broke a rare two-year dry spell for PGA-Academy agreement, taking both the PGA Award and Best Picture.

Following the Academy and the PGA both broadening their number of nomination slots in 2009, the PGA has nominated between seven and nine (out of 10 total PGA nominees versus the Academy’s sliding scale between five and 10) films per year that eventually follow up with a Best Picture nod. Last year, seven PGA nominees ultimately showed up among the Academy’s nominees.

Check out the full list of 2019 PGA Award winners below.

The Darryl F. Zanuck Award for Outstanding Producer of Theatrical Motion Pictures:

Green Book
Producers: Jim Burke, Charles B. Wessler, Brian Currie, Peter Farrelly, Nick Vallelonga

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Documentary Motion Pictures:

Won’t You Be My Neighbor?
Producers: Morgan Neville, Nicholas Ma, Caryn Capotosto

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Animated Theatrical Motion Pictures:

Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse
Producers: Avi Arad, Phil Lord & Christopher Miller, Amy Pascal, Christina Steinberg

The Norman Felton Award for Outstanding Producer of Episodic Television – Drama:

The Americans (Season 6)
Producers: Joe Weisberg, Joel Fields, Chris Long, Graham Yost, Justin Falvey, Darryl Frank, Stephen Schiff, Mary Rae Thewlis, Tracey Scott Wilson, Peter Ackerman, Joshua Brand

The Danny Thomas Award for Outstanding Producer of Episodic Television – Comedy:

The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel (Season 2)

Makers: Amy Sherman‐Palladino, Daniel Palladino, Dhana Rivera Gilbert, Sheila Lawrence

The David L. Wolper Award for Outstanding Producer of Limited Series Television:

The Assassination of Gianni Versace: American Crime Story (Season 2)

Makers: Ryan Murphy, Nina Jacobson, Brad Simpson, Alexis Martin Woodall, Tom Rob Smith, Daniel Minahan, Brad Falchuk, Scott Alexander, Larry Karaszewski, Chip Vucelich, Maggie Cohn, Eric Kovtun, Lou Eyrich, Eryn Krueger Mekash.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *